© Binsfeld / Luxembourg City Tourist Office

Petrusse Casemates

Where? Place de la Constitution, L-2449 Luxembourg City

The origins of the Pétrusse Casemates date back to the time when the Spanish modernised the medieval fortifications and built large bastions such as that of the Beck, whose platform is currently occupied by the Place de la Constitution.

Their origin goes back to 1644, when the Spaniards reinforced the medieval fortifications. Under the supervision of the Swiss fortress builder Isaac von Treybach, they built - among other defence works-the powerful Beck Bastion, named after Governor Baron Johann von Beck, a native of the city who had played a key role in the Wallenstein affair on the side of the Emperor. Initially this bastion was as high as the adjacent terraces on the right; it was raised to the present level of Constitution Square (the wall is 27 meters high) by Vauban in 1685. In 1673 the Spaniards erected the so-called "Ravelin du Pate" to strengthen the defence of the Beck Bastion; this triangular construction is one of the few well-kept fortifications. Marshall de Vauban conferred the present shape to all the Petrusse fortifications and built the "Small Staircase". From 1728-29 the Austrians added the "Bourbon Lock" and the "Large Staircase" and in 1746 the casemates of the "Petrusse Battery" (54 gun emplacements). One century passed and the fortress was enlarged and reinforced: the second ring was extended and the third started, so that Luxembourg became the "Gibraltar of the North". By and by, the Petrusse fortifications fell into oblivion and neglect, as their strategic momentum limited itself to the valley. After the dismantling, stipulated by the 1867 London Treaty, they confined themselves to walling up the loopholes and most entrances. Only in 1933 were the Petrusse casemates valorized again: on 26th July, the first visitors were able to visit them.

Opening hours

Opening hours are subject to change. Please check them before your visit in order to be sure.
Sunday03.03.2024 : 11:30 - 14:30
Monday04.03.2024 : 11:30 - 15:00
Tuesday05.03.2024 : 11:30 - 15:00
Wednesday06.03.2024 : 11:30 - 15:00
Thursday07.03.2024 : 11:30 - 15:00
Friday08.03.2024 : 11:30 - 15:00
Saturday09.03.2024 : 11:30 - 15:00

Contact

Address: Luxembourg City Tourist Office
Place de la Constitution
L-2449 Luxembourg City
Show on map

More sights

© Nienke Krook
free
with theLuxembourgCard
Bock Casemates
Bock Casemates: a UNESCO World Heritage Site
Find out more
© Christian Millen / LFT
Grand Ducal Palace
Town residence of the Grand Duke
Find out more
© Alfonso Salgueiro
Luxembourg, old quarters and fortifications
Luxembourg: 25 years of UNESCO world heritage - Experience history
Find out more

Hidden tunnels and talking stones

Transforming Experiences

The casemates are a fascinating series of tunnels running for several kilometres beneath the old town district of Luxembourg City, even extending as far as the Kirchberg plateau. Visitors can explore these tunnels at their own pace, as the Bock Casemates are open to tourists with relatively few restrictions.

Read more
© Pancake! Photographie