Fransiscan Church

Where? 16, Rue de Binsfeld, L-9912 Troisvierges

The Franciscan church of Troisvierges is an impressive religious landmark in the heart of the town. With its imposing architecture and historic charm, the church is a place of peace and contemplation.

Built in 1658, the Franciscan church decorates nowadays the heart of Troisvierges. With one of the oldest organs in the whole country, the church is a valuable historical monument. Furnished in a Baroque style, it counts numerous paintings from the Rubens school and, of course, the statues of the "Three Virgins" (=trois vierges), rfom which the city has its name.

Contact

Address: Fransiscan Church
16, Rue de Binsfeld
L-9912 Troisvierges
Show on map

More sites

Holy Church Lieler
The Roman Catholic church "Zum Heiligen Kreuz" in Lieler impresses with a Gothic choir tower from the 14th century, accompanied by frescoes from the 16th century.
Find out more
©Commune de Troisvierges
Troisvierges Trainstation
Troisvierges Station's story mirrors a dynamic era in European history. From a modest border stop, it transformed into a vital transportation hub, only to witness the turmoil of war and the gradual shift toward quieter days.
Find out more
©Samfaitvoyager
Bavigne dam
The Bavigne dam, part of the Upper Sûre reservoir, was built in the 1950s, requiring the relocation of mills and farmsteads. Standing at 23 meters, it guards the lake's pristine water quality. Today, as a popular diving spot, it unveils submerged remnants like bridges and a mill, echoing a rich history amid the progress.
Find out more
©Jängel Klasen
Veiner Gare – Former Trainstation
Nestled along the River Our, the town of Vianden once boasted a unique railway connection – the "Benny Express." This narrow-gauge line operated from 1889 to 1948, linking Vianden with Diekirch's main railway, a vital step in making the town more accessible to tourists.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Centre Cinqfontaines
The small village of Cinqfontaines (Five Wells), not far from Troisvierges, is home to a former monastery built at the beginning of the 20th century. In 1941 it was confiscated by the Nazis who used it as a place of internment for Jews from Luxembourg.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Church Saints-Côme-et-Damien
The parish church of Sts Côme et Damien in Clervaux, built in 1910/1911 in the Rhenish-Romanesque style, impresses with its striking dome above the altar and its majestic twin towers with melodic chimes.
Find out more
©Visit Clervaux
free
with theLuxembourgPass
Museum Bataille et Châteaux - Battle of the Bulge and castle models
Treat yourself to a journey into the past and into other dimensions! This unique exhibition is suitable for young and old alike. Here you can discover history in a new way.
Find out more
©Joachim Köhler
Notre-Dame de Lorette Chapel
A Gem of Clervaux's Spiritual Heritage
Find out more
©Musée de l'Ardoise
free
with theLuxembourgPass
Slate Museum - Musée de l'Ardoise
Discover the fascinating world underground at the Haut-Martelange Slate Museum! Experience the history and techniques of slate extraction and immerse yourself in the new, fascinating "Johanna" visitor gallery. Experience the everyday life of slate workers at first hand!
Find out more