Trinitarian church and cloister Vianden

Discover one of the most beautiful Gothic buildings in Luxembourg!

Built entirely in 1248, the church of the Trinitarians is one of the finest expressions of Gothic art in Luxembourg. The large choir was added in 1644. The main altar, made in 1758 in Rococo style, is the work of the artist Michel Weiler. Beside the church, the former cloister of the Trinitarians (1250). The recumbent effigy of Marie de Spanheim (approx. 1400) preserves the memory of the last descendant of the Counts of Vianden. 

Contact

Address: Trinitarian church and cloister Vianden
Grand-rue
L-9411 Vianden
Show on map

More sites

© Visit Éislek
Vianden Dam
The Vianden Dam is currently being transformed into an oversized artwork.
Find out more
© Tourist Center Clervaux
The Benedictine abbey of Saint-Maurice
With centuries of history and majestic architecture, the Benedictine Abbey in Clervaux invites you to immerse yourself in the past. A place full of charm and meaning, it opens its doors to visitors on the occasion of the daily morning mass.
Find out more
© Visit Éislek
Church Saints-Côme-et-Damien
The parish church of Sts Côme et Damien in Clervaux, built in 1910/1911 in the Rhenish-Romanesque style, impresses with its striking dome above the altar and its majestic twin towers with melodic chimes.
Find out more
© Visit Éislek
St. Lawrence Church Diekirch
The Laurentius Church in Diekirch was planned by Pierre Biwer and completed in 1868. It was declared a national monument in 2017.
Find out more
© Musée de l'Ardoise
free
with theLuxembourgCard
Slate Museum - Musée de l'Ardoise
Discover the fascinating world underground at the Haut-Martelange Slate Museum! Experience the history and techniques of slate extraction and immerse yourself in the new, fascinating "Johanna" visitor gallery. Experience the everyday life of slate workers at first hand!
Find out more
© Visit Éislek
Kalborn Mill
The mill in Kalborn, which is over 200 years old, has developed into a nature conservation centre. Endangered river pearl and brook mussels are bred here. Information boards in front of the mill show how gardens can provide habitats for wildlife and insects.
Find out more
© Visit Éislek
Bunker Kaundorf
This bunker from World War II, where deserted forced conscripts hid until liberation, can be reached via an approx. 1 km-long footpath. The walk is well worth it, as hikers near the bunker are rewarded by an impressive view over the Upper Sûre Lake.
Find out more
© Visit Éislek
Centre Cinqfontaines
The small village of Cinqfontaines (Five Wells), not far from Troisvierges, is home to a former monastery built at the beginning of the 20th century. In 1941 it was confiscated by the Nazis who used it as a ghetto for Jews from Luxembourg.
Find out more
© Visit Éislek
Airmen's monument
Take a journey into the past to the airmen's memorial in Maulusmühle. The wreckage of the aircraft on the ground tells the tragic story of six American airmen who lost their lives during the Battle of the Bulge.
Find out more