Saint-Roch church Insenborn

Where? 1, An der Gaass, L-9150 Eschdorf

Discover the neo-Gothic splendour of the Insenborn church, built according to plans by architect Biver in 1861.

The church in Insenborn was built in the neo-Gothic style after the plan was drawn up by the architect Biver from Diekirch in 1861 and approved in January 1862. The foundation stone was laid on 12 June 1862. The building material was provided by the inhabitants, including stones from the surrounding area, house stones from Mertzig and wood from various places. The church was consecrated on 16 November of the same year. The baroque furniture was taken from the previous building, created by Jean-Georges Scholtus from Bastogne.

It is dedicated to Saint Roch. In the 20th century, the furnishings were modernised, although some statues were preserved. A second interior restoration took place in 2006, during which, among other things, the wooden benches were replaced by chairs.

Today's redesigned space includes expressive windows, new oak furniture and distinctive Stations of the Cross.

Opening hours

Opening hours are subject to change. Please check them before your visit in order to be sure.
Thursday27.08.2026 : 10:00 - 18:00
Friday28.08.2026 : 10:00 - 18:00
Saturday29.08.2026 : 10:00 - 18:00
Sunday30.08.2026 : 10:00 - 18:00
Monday31.08.2026 : 10:00 - 18:00 , 10:00 - 18:00
Tuesday01.09.2026 : 10:00 - 18:00 , 10:00 - 18:00
Wednesday02.09.2026 : 10:00 - 18:00 , 10:00 - 18:00

Contact

Address: Administration Communale d'Esch-sur-Sûre
1, An der Gaass
L-9150 Eschdorf
Show on map

More sites

©Visit Éislek
Centre Cinqfontaines
The small village of Cinqfontaines (Five Wells), not far from Troisvierges, is home to a former monastery built at the beginning of the 20th century. In 1941 it was confiscated by the Nazis who used it as a place of internment for Jews from Luxembourg.
Find out more
©© Giulio Groebert
Esch-sur-Sûre dam
The impressive dam in Esch-Sauer was built between 1955 and 1958 and blends harmoniously into nature. Its arched design makes it a popular photo spot for photographers and nature enthusiasts.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Vianden Dam
The Vianden Dam is currently being transformed into an oversized artwork.
Find out more
©Joachim Köhler
Notre-Dame de Lorette Chapel
A Gem of Clervaux's Spiritual Heritage
Find out more
©Anabela and Jorge Valente diariesof
Bildchen Chapel
The Bildchen Chapel in Vianden is located at a pilgrimage site above the reservoir of the pumped storage plant and is worth a visit because of its idyllic location.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
free
with theLuxembourgPass
Copper Mine Stolzembourg
Accompanied by a guide, discover the informative museum about the geology of the region, the history of the mine and the different mining periods. Follow the geological trail with 10 display panels and explore the deep underground galleries!
Find out more
©Commune de Troisvierges
Troisvierges Trainstation
Troisvierges Station's story mirrors a dynamic era in European history. From a modest border stop, it transformed into a vital transportation hub, only to witness the turmoil of war and the gradual shift toward quieter days.
Find out more
©Alfonso Salgueiro
Lancaster Memorial Weiswampach
The Lancaster Memorial commemorates fourteen young men whose Lancaster bombers crashed near Weiswampach during the Second World War.
Find out more
Trinitarian church and cloister Vianden
Discover one of the most beautiful Gothic buildings in Luxembourg!
Find out more