© Visit Éislek

St. Lawrence Church Diekirch

Where? 5, Rue du Curé, 9217 Diekirch

The Laurentius Church in Diekirch was planned by Pierre Biwer and completed in 1868. It was declared a national monument in 2017.

The old St. Lawrence church in Diekirch was built on a Roman cult site in the Middle Ages.
The interior of the church is decorated with fine frescoes from the 16th and 17th centuries. The remains of a cemetery, probably dating back to the Merovingian period, were discovered in 1960 under the church.


Culture info

  • Visit possible (& visit information): Geführte Besichtigung Diekirch / Guided Tour Diekirch / Visite guidée Diekirch

Contact

Address: Syndicat d'Initiative de Diekrich
3, Place de la Libération
L-9255 Diekirch
Show on map

More sites

© Paul Dostert
A stumbling sill in memory of the Jewish community
Discover a poignant tribute to Ettelbruck's vibrant pre-war Jewish community, as you walk through the historic heart of the town and stumble upon the "Stumbling sill."
Find out more
Anti-tank gun 43
At the Houfëls viewpoint, the imposing presence of two World War II relics awaits visitors.
Find out more
© Musée de l'Ardoise
free
with theLuxembourgCard
Slate Museum - Musée de l'Ardoise
Discover the fascinating world underground at the Haut-Martelange Slate Museum! Experience the history and techniques of slate extraction and immerse yourself in the new, fascinating "Johanna" visitor gallery. Experience the everyday life of slate workers at first hand!
Find out more
© Naturpark Oewersauer, Naturpark Oewersauer
Circular routes
Hiking trail Schumannseck - Site Memorial 1944-1945
Distance: 3,09 km
Duration: 0:50 h
Difficulty: easy
Find out more
© Visit Éislek
Kalborn Mill
The mill in Kalborn, which is over 200 years old, has developed into a nature conservation centre. Endangered river pearl and brook mussels are bred here. Information boards in front of the mill show how gardens can provide habitats for wildlife and insects.
Find out more
© Caroline Martin
Exhibition “Our Common Heritage”
An ambitious and unifying project, the exhibition “Our Common Heritage” in Boulaide takes an original and completely new approach to the history lived in the cross-border territories of the Greater Region, whose imprint still marks the current geopolitical context.
Find out more
Saint-Roch church Insenborn
Discover the neo-Gothic splendour of the Insenborn church, built according to plans by architect Biver in 1861.
Find out more
The Chapel of St Mark
St Mark's Chapel in Longsdorf attracts visitors as a popular place of pilgrimage, especially on 25 April, the feast day of the holy patron saint. The chapel with its two-nave design, geometric paintings and a baroque altar is certainly worth a visit.
Find out more
© Visit Luxembourg
Thematic paths
Bunker Circular Walk
Distance: 13,84 km
Duration: 4:30 h
Difficulty: difficult
Find out more