©385BGMM

W.W.II 385th Bomb Group Museum Perlé

Where? 6, Rue de l'Eglise, 8826 Perlé

Discover the unfortunate story of two US bombers who collided near Perlé in this military museum.

This unique museum mainly deals with the tragic crash of two B-17 US bombers that collided over Perlé on 12 July 1944 while flying in formation. Eighteen crew members were killed in the crash. With many wreckage parts, documents and equipment, the air war and the occupation period 1940-45 are thematised.

An impressive memorial in honour of the fallen of the 385th Bomb Group is located in the immediate vicinity of the museum.


Culture info

  • History

Opening hours

The museum is open every second Sunday from 10:00 to 16:00. Last admission is one hour before closing time. Visits by appointment are possible with two weeks' notice.

Contact

Address: W.W.II 385th Bomb Group Museum Perlé
6, Rue de l'Eglise
L-8826 Perlé
Show on map

More sites

©Visit Éislek
Centre Cinqfontaines
The small village of Cinqfontaines (Five Wells), not far from Troisvierges, is home to a former monastery built at the beginning of the 20th century. In 1941 it was confiscated by the Nazis who used it as a place of internment for Jews from Luxembourg.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Bourscheid Hougeriicht – High justice
In the 15th or 16th century, a witch trial in Bourscheid unfolded with accusations of devilish pacts and plots against God's creation. This dark chapter mirrors a broader era of witch hunts in Luxembourg, fueled by societal turmoil, economic struggles, and the fear of a mysterious witchcraft sect.
Find out more
The Chapel of St Mark
St Mark's Chapel in Longsdorf attracts visitors as a popular place of pilgrimage, especially on 25 April, the feast day of the holy patron saint. The chapel with its two-nave design, geometric paintings and a baroque altar is certainly worth a visit.
Find out more
The Statue of the Virgin Mary in Esch-sur-Sûre
High above Esch-sur-Sûre, the Statue of the Virgin Mary watches over the village. A historic site offering stunning views.
Find out more
©PNDO
Houffelter Kanal - Meuse-Moselle Canal
The Canal That Never Was: The Ambitious Plan to Link Belgium and Luxembourg
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
St. Lawrence Church Diekirch
The Laurentius Church in Diekirch was planned by Pierre Biwer and completed in 1868. It was declared a national monument in 2017.
Find out more
©Pancake! Photographie
free
with theLuxembourgPass
Victor Hugo House - Literary Museum
Victor Hugo Museum: follow the traces left by the writer in Luxembourg!
Find out more
Saint-Michel Chapel
The Saint-Michel Chapel towers high above Oberschlinder, surrounded by forest and accessible via hiking trails.
Find out more
©Samfaitvoyager
Bavigne dam
The Bavigne dam, part of the Upper Sûre reservoir, was built in the 1950s, requiring the relocation of mills and farmsteads. Standing at 23 meters, it guards the lake's pristine water quality. Today, as a popular diving spot, it unveils submerged remnants like bridges and a mill, echoing a rich history amid the progress.
Find out more