© Visit Éislek

Monastery of Cinqfontaines

Where? 2, Klousterstrooss, L-9902 Cinqfontaines

The small village of Cinqfontaines (Five Wells), not far from Troisvierges, is home to a former monastery built at the beginning of the 20th century. In 1941 it was confiscated by the Nazis who used it as a ghetto for Jews from Luxembourg.

Between 1904 and 1907, the Congregation of the Sacred Heart had a monastery built in Cinqfontaines/Fünfbrunnen by the German architect Klomp from Dortmund.

In March 1941, the Nazis confiscated all the monasteries in Luxembourg, including the Cinqfontaines monastery. More and more Jews from all over the country were housed there, so that the monastery quickly became too small. The plan to build wooden barracks could not be realised. Thus the living conditions for the mostly old and sick inmates became very difficult, especially as the food rations were reduced by the Nazis. From 1941 to 1943, the Jews of Cinqfontaines were deported to the ghettos and extermination camps of Eastern Europe. The monastery was located near a railway line, which allowed the secret deportation of the Jews. 300 to 400 Jews passed through Cinqfontaines, about 16 of them died.

In 1944, the American military converted the monastery into a field hospital. In 1969, a memorial monument was dedicated. In 1973 it became a retreat and reflection centre.

After the end of the war, the priests returned to Cinqfontaines. From the 1950s, holiday camps were organised on the site. Following an agreement with the Jewish community of Luxembourg, the Cinqfontaines monastery was acquired by the state in 2020 to build a memorial and educational centre there.

In 2021, the last priests left the monastery, and since 2022, the National Youth Service and the Centre for Political Education have been offering educational activities on the topics of remembering the victims of the Holocaust, raising awareness against anti-Semitism and racism and ""promoting democracy and human rights. The centre itself cannot be visited and is reserved exclusively for educational activities. However, there is a memorial in front of the building that is freely accessible.

Opening hours

Contact

Address: Syndicat d’Initiative et de Tourisme Wincrange
2, Klousterstrooss
L-9902 Cinqfontaines
Show on map
Phone:+ 352 247 95149
E-Mail:syndicat@wincrange.lu
Website:https://cinqfontaines.lu/
Plan your journey

More sights

© Alfonso Salgueiro
Lancaster Memorial Weiswampach
The Lancaster Memorial commemorates fourteen young men whose Lancaster bombers crashed near Weiswampach during the Second World War.
Find out more
Circular routes
Hiking trail Schumannseck - Site Memorial 1944-1945
Distance: 3,12 km
Duration: 0:50 h
Difficulty: easy
Find out more
© Visit Éislek
Kalborn Mill
The mill in Kalborn, which is over 200 years old, has developed into a nature conservation centre. Endangered river pearl and brook mussels are bred here. Information boards in front of the mill show how gardens can provide habitats for wildlife and insects.
Find out more
© Visit Éislek
Bunker Kaundorf
This bunker from World War II, where deserted forced conscripts hid until liberation, can be reached via an approx. 1 km-long footpath. The walk is well worth it, as hikers near the bunker are rewarded by an impressive view over the Upper Sûre Lake.
Find out more
© Visit Éislek
Church Saints-Côme-et-Damien
The parish church of Sts Côme et Damien in Clervaux, built in 1910/1911 in the Rhenish-Romanesque style, impresses with its striking dome above the altar and its majestic twin towers with melodic chimes.
Find out more
© Visit Éislek
St. Lawrence Church Diekirch
The Laurentius Church in Diekirch was planned by Pierre Biwer and completed in 1868. It was declared a national monument in 2017.
Find out more
© Musée de l'Ardoise
free
with theLuxembourgCard
Slate Museum - Musée de l'Ardoise
Discover the fascinating world underground at the Haut-Martelange Slate Museum! Experience the history and techniques of slate extraction and immerse yourself in the new, fascinating "Johanna" visitor gallery. Experience the everyday life of slate workers at first hand!
Find out more
© Tourist Center Clervaux
The Benedictine abbey of Saint-Maurice
With centuries of history and majestic architecture, the Benedictine Abbey in Clervaux invites you to immerse yourself in the past. A place full of charm and meaning, it opens its doors to visitors on the occasion of the daily morning mass.
Find out more
© © Giulio Groebert
Esch-sur-Sûre dam
The impressive dam in Esch-Sauer was built between 1955 and 1958 and blends harmoniously into nature. Its arched design makes it a popular photo spot for photographers and nature enthusiasts.
Find out more