©Tourist Center Clervaux

The Benedictine abbey of Saint-Maurice

Where? 1, Place de l'abbaye, L-9737 Clervaux

With centuries of history and majestic architecture, the Benedictine Abbey in Clervaux invites you to immerse yourself in the past. A place full of charm and meaning, it opens its doors to visitors on the occasion of the daily morning mass.

The Benedictine Abbey of St Mauritius towers with its bright red roofs over the city of Clervaux. Built in 1909/1910 in the neo-Romanesque style, it was settled by the Benedictines of the French Abbey of St-Maur de Glanfeuil.

Today the abbey houses about 12 monks and is not open to visitors.

An interesting exhibition in the crypt shows monastic life, and the daily morning mass at 10:00 am in the church offers the opportunity to listen to the monks’ Gregorian chants.  

The adjacent souvenir shop sells books and art objects as well as on site homemade apple juice.

Opening hours

Contact

Address: Die Benediktinerabtei Saint-Maurice
1, Place de l'abbaye
L-9737 Clervaux
Show on map

More sites

©Jängel Klasen
Veiner Gare – Former Trainstation
Nestled along the River Our, the town of Vianden once boasted a unique railway connection – the "Benny Express." This narrow-gauge line operated from 1889 to 1948, linking Vianden with Diekirch's main railway, a vital step in making the town more accessible to tourists.
Find out more
©Alfonso Salgueiro
Lancaster Memorial Weiswampach
The Lancaster Memorial commemorates fourteen young men whose Lancaster bombers crashed near Weiswampach during the Second World War.
Find out more
©Pancake! Photographie
free
with theLuxembourgPass
National Museum of Military History Diekirch
Discover life-size dioramas that sensitively depict the battles and lives of soldiers during the Second World War and explore the impressive collection of over 100,000 military artefacts!
Find out more
©385BGMM
W.W.II 385th Bomb Group Museum Perlé
Discover the unfortunate story of two US bombers who collided near Perlé in this military museum.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Kalborn Mill
The mill in Kalborn, which is over 200 years old, has developed into a nature conservation centre. Endangered river pearl and brook mussels are bred here. Information boards in front of the mill show how gardens can provide habitats for wildlife and insects.
Find out more
The Chapel of St Mark
St Mark's Chapel in Longsdorf attracts visitors as a popular place of pilgrimage, especially on 25 April, the feast day of the holy patron saint. The chapel with its two-nave design, geometric paintings and a baroque altar is certainly worth a visit.
Find out more
©Commune de Troisvierges
Troisvierges Trainstation
Troisvierges Station's story mirrors a dynamic era in European history. From a modest border stop, it transformed into a vital transportation hub, only to witness the turmoil of war and the gradual shift toward quieter days.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
free
with theLuxembourgPass
General Patton Memorial Museum
The General Patton Memorial Museum in Ettelbruck commemorates the commander of the 3rd US Army whose troops liberated the town on 25 December 1944. The exhibition illustrates the most important events that occurred during the Second World War in Luxembourg.
Find out more
Holy Church Lieler
The Roman Catholic church "Zum Heiligen Kreuz" in Lieler impresses with a Gothic choir tower from the 14th century, accompanied by frescoes from the 16th century.
Find out more