When? Saturday 03.12.202200:00

City stories for the ear (sound experience walk)
Where? Territoire Luxembourg, Territoire Luxembourg Esch2022, Other, Art, Culture & Literature

Walking, listening and recomposing everyday sounds of Esch

Three routes to discover the art of sound walking chosen by sound urbanist Trond Maag and sound architect Andres Bosshard.

How can we take responsibility for the sound of our city? We teach ourselves how to listen to Esch’s buildings, squares and streets, how to talk to the city, and how the city talks to us. You can put this knowledge into practice at home and explore how to modify your city’s sound while walking, shopping, and meeting people.

The sound experience walks allow residents and visitors of Esch2022 to discover the city’s acoustic environments. The soundwalk guide is collaboratively developed with the project partners as part of their work and research practice related to urban sound. The walk’s collaborative context brings together actors involved in city-making and environmental design to share their work practices.

Walking, Listening and Recomposing Everyday Sounds of Esch shifts the city sound's focus towards a designed and planned quality. It draws attention to active engagement concerning how surfaces, materials, architectures, landscapes, and how people activate these forms, contribute to the sound and identity of a city experiencing significant developments. The walks’ participants will become more aware of the sound of their city by considering how sounds spread and behave in space, and learn to express their listening experiences. In this way, knowledge of urban sound can spill over into everyday city life, taking root and beginning to evolve.

Text provided by the project partner

Book
urbanidentity Zurich

© echo.lu
Next events
Sunday 04.12.202200:00
Monday 05.12.202200:00
Tuesday 06.12.202200:00
Wednesday 07.12.202200:00
Thursday 08.12.202200:00
Friday 09.12.202200:00
Saturday 10.12.202200:00
Sunday 11.12.202200:00
Monday 12.12.202200:00
Tuesday 13.12.202200:00
Wednesday 14.12.202200:00
Thursday 15.12.202200:00
Friday 16.12.202200:00
Saturday 17.12.202200:00
Sunday 18.12.202200:00
Monday 19.12.202200:00
Tuesday 20.12.202200:00
Wednesday 21.12.202200:00
Thursday 22.12.202200:00
Friday 23.12.202200:00
Saturday 24.12.202200:00
Sunday 25.12.202200:00
Monday 26.12.202200:00
Tuesday 27.12.202200:00
Wednesday 28.12.202200:00
Thursday 29.12.202200:00
Friday 30.12.202200:00
Saturday 31.12.202200:00
Show allShow less

Location

Address: Esch2022 / Territoire Luxembourg
Territoire Luxembourg
Territoire Luxembourg
Plan your journey

Where? rue du Centenaire 1B, L-3475 DUDELANGE

When? 03.12.2022

Launch of the publication "H - The Notion of Humanist Photography"

H - The Notion of Humanist Photography

Find out more

Where? 66, Rue de Luxembourg, L-4001 ESCH-SUR-ALZETTE

When? 28.12.2022

Esch a Flamen

Héichkultur amplaz Héichuewen

Find out more

Where? 3, Park Dräi Eechelen, L-1499 LUXEMBOURG

When? 03.12.2022

Tacita Dean

Tacita Dean

Find out more

Where? 3, avenue des Hauts-Fourneaux, L-4361 Esch-sur-Alzette

When? 16.12.2022

Vernissage

Pure Europe

Find out more

Where? 3, Park Dräi Eechelen, L-1499 LUXEMBOURG

When? 30.06.2023

Collection Mudam

Collection Mudam

Find out more

Where? 37B, Rue de la Fontaine, L-4122 ESCH-SUR-ALZETTE

When? 07.12.2022

Open Workshop Wedn. evening !

Come and tinker in our shared atelier

Find out more

Where? 476, route de Thionville, L-5886 HESPERANGE

When? 08.12.2022

WATCH WHAT HAPPENS

A JAZZY CHRISTMAS TALE

Find out more

Where? 1, Ellergronn, L-4114 ESCH-SUR-ALZETTE

When? 03.12.2022

Launch of the Citizen's Climate Collective

Launch of the Citizen's Climate Collective

Find out more

Where? 12, rue de l'Église, L-4106 Esch-sur-Alzette

When? 14.12.2022

Alex Langini : Kierchen zu Esch a ronder!em-Geschicht a Konscht"

Ensemble même si différents

Find out more