©Visit Éislek

Museum of the Battle of the Bulge Wiltz

Where? 35, Rue du Château, L-9516 Wiltz

Discover the moving history of the "martyr town" during the Battle of the Bulge in the interactive museum in Wiltz. Experience history up close in the beautiful Wiltz Castle.

The museum in Wiltz castle tells the story of the dark period of the Battle of the Bulge in the winter of 1944/45.

In addition to the unique wealth of documents, photos, pieces of equipment and weapons, the immeasurable suffering of the civilian population and the terrible fate of the soldiers on both sides are objectively presented. Of particular interest are the dioramas, e.g. about the cordial coexistence of the Wiltz population with the US GIs in December 1944, the desperate defence of the town by the US military band and the scene with the long-suffering civilians who, in gratitude for their survival, wrote a vow to erect the "Fatima Monument" in the ruins.

Multilingual group tours are available on request.


Practical information

  • Toilets
  • Public transport connection
  • Indoor

Culture info

  • Visit possible (& visit information)
  • History

Opening hours

Opening hours are subject to change. Please check them before your visit in order to be sure.
SundayClosed
Monday23.03.2026 : 09:00 - 12:00 , 14:00 - 17:00
Tuesday24.03.2026 : 09:00 - 12:00 , 14:00 - 17:00
Wednesday25.03.2026 : 09:00 - 12:00 , 14:00 - 17:00
Thursday26.03.2026 : 09:00 - 12:00 , 14:00 - 17:00
Friday27.03.2026 : 09:00 - 12:00 , 14:00 - 17:00
Saturday28.03.2026 : 09:00 - 12:00 , 14:00 - 17:00

Contact

Address: Syndicat d'Initiative et de Tourisme Wiltz
35, Rue du Château
L-9516 Wiltz
Show on map

More sites

©Musée Rural Binsfeld
free
with theLuxembourgPass
Rural Museum A Schiewesch
Immerse yourself in the past in the lovingly designed museum "A Schiewesch", a converted farm from the 17th century, where over 50 thematic areas in 21 rooms make former rural life come alive.
Find out more
©Jängel Klasen
Veiner Gare – Former Trainstation
Nestled along the River Our, the town of Vianden once boasted a unique railway connection – the "Benny Express." This narrow-gauge line operated from 1889 to 1948, linking Vianden with Diekirch's main railway, a vital step in making the town more accessible to tourists.
Find out more
©Mike Zenari
free
with theLuxembourgPass
National Brewery Museum and Tannery Museum
Discover the fascinating brewery museum in the historic ambience of Wiltz Castle! Immerse yourself in the world of beer making, take part in a brewmaster course and enjoy your own brew on site.
Find out more
Përmeshaff – Estate ruins
Përmeshaff, a historic site near Kaundorf, traces its roots to 1195. Over the centuries, it evolved into a religious centre, attracting pilgrims to its chapel and healing springs. Despite enduring a devastating fire in 1936, recent archaeological efforts have unveiled layers of its rich history, highlighting significance of Përmeshaff as a cultural landmark.
Find out more
©Industrie.lu
Antimonmine – Abandoned mine
Amidst the tranquil landscape, Goesdorf's geological tapestry reveals remnants of shafts and galleries, preserving the legacy of this "foundry village."
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
St. Lawrence Church Diekirch
The Laurentius Church in Diekirch was planned by Pierre Biwer and completed in 1868. It was declared a national monument in 2017.
Find out more
©Ville d'Ettelbruck
Patton Monument Ettelbruck
Discover the Patton Memorial in Ettelbruck, an important place of remembrance. This monument honours General George Patton Jr, whose 3rd US Army liberated Ettelbruck in December 1944, stopping the invasion of the Wehrmacht during the Battle of the Bulge.
Find out more
©PNDO
Houffelter Kanal - Meuse-Moselle Canal
The Canal That Never Was: The Ambitious Plan to Link Belgium and Luxembourg
Find out more
©© Giulio Groebert
Esch-sur-Sûre dam
The impressive dam in Esch-Sauer was built between 1955 and 1958 and blends harmoniously into nature. Its arched design makes it a popular photo spot for photographers and nature enthusiasts.
Find out more