The Chapel of St Mark

St Mark's Chapel in Longsdorf attracts visitors as a popular place of pilgrimage, especially on 25 April, the feast day of the holy patron saint. The chapel with its two-nave design, geometric paintings and a baroque altar is certainly worth a visit.

The chapel of St Marc is an important pilgrimage site, especially at the occasion of celebration of its holy protector (April 25 th). The precious sanctuary regularly houses classical music concerts. Since 1627 a hermit lived in the neighbouring hermitage. He was in charge of the security of the place. The actual form of the chapel dates back to the 16th century. The sanctuary presents tow naves separated by a colonnade. The choir is divided into three axis. A roofed entrance hall may be distinguished at the western side. 1757 a second entrance was broken into the northern wall.

The geometrical paintings date back to the 16th century. A baroque altar dominates the choir. On the left side the visitor discovers a modern representation of the Virgin, whereas on the right side, he will be impressed by a cross dating back to the early 1600. The cross-stations were realized in the 19th century. The modern art windows had been concieved in 1989 by Emile Probst, an artist born in Vianden and living in Brussels, and who was a member of the lobbying group for abstract art "Iconomaques".

The ancient hermitage hat been transformed into a holiday apartment for 12 guests (T +352 80 71 24).

Opening hours

Contact

Address: The Chapel of St Mark
6, Marxberg
L-9459 Longsdorf
Show on map

More sites

©PNDO
Houffelter Kanal - Meuse-Moselle Canal
The Canal That Never Was: The Ambitious Plan to Link Belgium and Luxembourg
Find out more
©Commune de Troisvierges
Troisvierges Trainstation
Troisvierges Station's story mirrors a dynamic era in European history. From a modest border stop, it transformed into a vital transportation hub, only to witness the turmoil of war and the gradual shift toward quieter days.
Find out more
©Naturpark Oewersauer, Naturpark Oewersauer
Circular routes
Schumannseck 1944-1945 Memorial Path
Distance: 3,09 km
Duration: 0:50 h
Difficulty: easy
Find out more
©Anabela and Jorge Valente diariesof
Bildchen Chapel
The Bildchen Chapel in Vianden is located at a pilgrimage site above the reservoir of the pumped storage plant and is worth a visit because of its idyllic location.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Bourscheid Hougeriicht – High justice
In the 15th or 16th century, a witch trial in Bourscheid unfolded with accusations of devilish pacts and plots against God's creation. This dark chapter mirrors a broader era of witch hunts in Luxembourg, fueled by societal turmoil, economic struggles, and the fear of a mysterious witchcraft sect.
Find out more
©Paul Dostert
A stumbling sill in memory of the Jewish community
Discover a poignant tribute to Ettelbruck's vibrant pre-war Jewish community, as you walk through the historic heart of the town and stumble upon the "Stumbling sill."
Find out more
Përmeshaff – Estate ruins
Përmeshaff, a historic site near Kaundorf, traces its roots to 1195. Over the centuries, it evolved into a religious centre, attracting pilgrims to its chapel and healing springs. Despite enduring a devastating fire in 1936, recent archaeological efforts have unveiled layers of its rich history, highlighting significance of Përmeshaff as a cultural landmark.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Deiwelselter
This remarkable monument, once a burial site, is a landmark of the town of Diekirch. Those who hike there are rewarded by a great view of the village and its green surroundings.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
National Strike Monument Wiltz
Visit the impressive monument commemorating the general strike during the Second World War. Learn more about the tragic events of that time that shaped Luxembourg's history.
Find out more