When? Saturday 02.07.202215:30

Visites guidées gratuites du weekend (LU, FR, DE, EN)
Where? 3, avenue des Hauts-Fourneaux, L-4361 Esch-sur-Alzette Esch2022, Other, Art, Culture & Literature

Earthbound – In Dialogue with Nature

Global warming is rapidly progressing. It has been factually proven to be largely man-made and that human activity heavily influences biological, geological and atmospheric processes on earth. The exhibition Earthbound presents 18 artworks by internationally renowned artists that spark reflection on urgent environmental themes, especially in relation to the complex relationship between humans and the ecosystem.

 

The works on view span from tentative blueprints for solutions and alternative models for a more sustainable coexistence with our environment to inquiries into the use of digital tools for a sustainable treatment of our resources. Accordingly, artistic practices employing media, technologies and technoscientific methods stand at the centre of the exhibition. Their creative application of digital media and new technologies – from artificial intelligence (AI), virtual reality (VR), interactive and immersive installations, multimedia sculptures and video installations – invites the audience to experience and engage.

 

In concert, these works critically challenge the notion that humans are at the centre of creation, encouraging us to surrender our egocentric perspective and rediscover our relationship with nature on this planet. The exhibition title draws attention to the essential fact that we only have this one earth. Where better to stage our connection with it than in the former warehouse for the raw materials in Esch-Belval?

 

Earthbound: In Dialogue with Nature is organised in collaboration with HEK (House of Electronic Arts) and is curated by Sabine Himmelsbach, director of HEK and Boris Magrini, Head of Programme at HEK. 

 

The exhibition is accompanied by a programme of public events, including guided tours and workshops. A catalogue published by Hatje Cantz will be released in Summer 2022

Sabrina Ratté “Floralia I - IV” (2021). “Earthbound – In Dialogue with Nature” is commissioned by Esch2022 – European Capital of Culture and curated and organised by HEK (House of Electronic Arts). Curators: Sabine Himmelsbach and Boris Magrini. Photo: © Franz Wamhof
© echo.lu
Next events
Sunday 03.07.202215:30
Monday 04.07.202215:30
Tuesday 05.07.202215:30
Wednesday 06.07.202215:30
Thursday 07.07.202215:30
Friday 08.07.202215:30
Saturday 09.07.202215:30
Sunday 10.07.202215:30
Monday 11.07.202215:30
Tuesday 12.07.202215:30
Wednesday 13.07.202215:30
Thursday 14.07.202215:30
Friday 15.07.202215:30
Saturday 16.07.202215:30
Sunday 17.07.202215:30
Monday 18.07.202215:30
Tuesday 19.07.202215:30
Wednesday 20.07.202215:30
Thursday 21.07.202215:30
Friday 22.07.202215:30
Saturday 23.07.202215:30
Sunday 24.07.202215:30
Monday 25.07.202215:30
Tuesday 26.07.202215:30
Wednesday 27.07.202215:30
Thursday 28.07.202215:30
Friday 29.07.202215:30
Saturday 30.07.202215:30
Sunday 31.07.202215:30
Monday 01.08.202215:30
Tuesday 02.08.202215:30
Wednesday 03.08.202215:30
Thursday 04.08.202215:30
Friday 05.08.202215:30
Saturday 06.08.202215:30
Sunday 07.08.202215:30
Monday 08.08.202215:30
Tuesday 09.08.202215:30
Wednesday 10.08.202215:30
Thursday 11.08.202215:30
Friday 12.08.202215:30
Saturday 13.08.202215:30
Sunday 14.08.202215:30
Show allShow less

Location

Address: Visitor Center
3, avenue des Hauts-Fourneaux
L-4361 Esch-sur-Alzette
Frontaliers, des vies en stéréo par Mehdi Ahoudig et Samuel Bollendorff ©Samuel Bollendorff
© echo.lu

Where? 3, avenue des Hauts-Fourneaux, L-4361 Esch-sur-Alzette

When? 22.10.2022

Vernissage

Frontaliers. Des vies en stéréo.

Find out more
Musée National de la Résistance et des Droits Humains
© echo.lu

Where? Territoire France, Territoire France

When? 01.09.2022

Vernissage Chemin Mémoriel

ECCE HOMO

Find out more
Pas de copyright
© echo.lu

Where? 77, RUE ZENON BERNARD, L-4030 ESCH-SUR-ALZETTE

When? 17.11.2022

Vernissage de l'exposition sur Jean-Paul II avec CONCERT du groupe polonais HOQUETUS

Ensemble même si différents

Find out more
© tinker imagineers
© echo.lu

Where? 3, avenue des Hauts-Fourneaux, L-4361 Esch-sur-Alzette

When? 17.12.2022

Vernissage

Pure Europe

Find out more
©

Where? 37B, Rue de la Fontaine, L-4122 ESCH-SUR-ALZETTE

When? 06.07.2022

Open Workshop Wedn. evening !

Come and tinker in our shared atelier

Find out more
Pas de copyright
© echo.lu

Where? Territoire Luxembourg, Territoire Luxembourg

When? 24.07.2022

Concerts

Europe goes Scuffelingen

Find out more
Tessy Troes
© echo.lu

Where? 38, AVENUE CHARLOTTE, L-4530 DIFFERDANGE

When? 22.10.2022

Um Ball - 50 Joer Fraefussball zu Lëtzebuerg

Um Ball - 50 Joer Fraefussball zu Lëtzebuerg

Find out more
Tessy Troes
© echo.lu

Where? 38, AVENUE CHARLOTTE, L-4530 DIFFERDANGE

When? 21.10.2022

Um Ball - 50 Joer Fraefussball zu Lëtzebuerg

Um Ball - 50 Joer Fraefussball zu Lëtzebuerg

Find out more
Tessy Troes
© echo.lu

Where? 38, AVENUE CHARLOTTE, L-4530 DIFFERDANGE

When? 20.10.2022

Um Ball - 50 Joer Fraefussball zu Lëtzebuerg - Première

Um Ball - 50 Joer Fraefussball zu Lëtzebuerg

Find out more