When? Sunday 04.12.202210:00 - 18:00

Sung Tieu. Civic Floor
Where? 3, Park Dräi Eechelen, L-1499 LUXEMBOURG Art, Culture & Literature

Sung Tieu. Civic Floor

Sung Tieu (b. 1987, Hai Duong, Vietnam) works in a range of media producing exhibitions that draw upon extensive research. Her works of sculpture, drawing, text and sound consider questions of governance, civic responsibility and justice, analysing mechanisms of state control. Making reference to art history, and in particular to minimalism and the deployment of the grid, they highlight the translation of ideologies within industrial design and architecture and the prevalence of abstraction as an organising force.

Civic Floor comprises a series of steel and plaster works, which are accompanied by engraved plaques (displayed in the lower ground floor) and sound. This new body of work considers questions of space and volume, both in terms of their fundamental role in art-making as well as in the design of carceral spaces and bureaucratic systems.

Seven steel sculptures filled with earth and elevated on steel tables refer to four types of prison architecture; the so-called ‘radial’ prison which originated in Britain in the 1840s, the ‘courtyard’ prison designs that superseded it in the late 20th century and the ‘galleried’ layout and the ‘newgeneration’ of prisons that emerged in the 1990s. Tieu invites us to peer inside these hard-edged, oblique forms to view the organisation of space within. Three of the works abstract and enlarge a detail from these interiors. The addition of locallysourced earth implies a connection to land. This ubiquitous, organic matter also serves as a discrete reference to the presence of national borders.

These sculptures are surrounded by a second series of plaster works that refer to various documents employed in assessing eligibility for immigration. Three forms which are respectively used to apply for asylum, appeal against deportation or for refugees to apply for a ‘waiver of grounds of inadmissibility’, are the basis for the wall-based works. Devoid of textual content and reduced to their lines and bo...

Civic Floor

© echo.lu
Next events
Monday 05.12.202210:00 - 18:00
Wednesday 07.12.202210:00 - 21:00
Thursday 08.12.202210:00 - 18:00
Friday 09.12.202210:00 - 18:00
Saturday 10.12.202210:00 - 18:00
Sunday 11.12.202210:00 - 18:00
Monday 12.12.202210:00 - 18:00
Wednesday 14.12.202210:00 - 21:00
Thursday 15.12.202210:00 - 18:00
Friday 16.12.202210:00 - 18:00
Saturday 17.12.202210:00 - 18:00
Sunday 18.12.202210:00 - 18:00
Monday 19.12.202210:00 - 18:00
Wednesday 21.12.202210:00 - 21:00
Thursday 22.12.202210:00 - 18:00
Friday 23.12.202210:00 - 18:00
Saturday 24.12.202210:00 - 18:00
Sunday 25.12.202210:00 - 18:00
Monday 26.12.202210:00 - 18:00
Wednesday 28.12.202210:00 - 21:00
Thursday 29.12.202210:00 - 18:00
Friday 30.12.202210:00 - 18:00
Saturday 31.12.202210:00 - 18:00
Sunday 01.01.202310:00 - 18:00
Monday 02.01.202310:00 - 18:00
Wednesday 04.01.202310:00 - 21:00
Thursday 05.01.202310:00 - 18:00
Friday 06.01.202310:00 - 18:00
Saturday 07.01.202310:00 - 18:00
Sunday 08.01.202310:00 - 18:00
Monday 09.01.202310:00 - 18:00
Wednesday 11.01.202310:00 - 21:00
Thursday 12.01.202310:00 - 18:00
Friday 13.01.202310:00 - 18:00
Saturday 14.01.202310:00 - 18:00
Sunday 15.01.202310:00 - 18:00
Monday 16.01.202310:00 - 18:00
Wednesday 18.01.202310:00 - 21:00
Thursday 19.01.202310:00 - 18:00
Friday 20.01.202310:00 - 18:00
Saturday 21.01.202310:00 - 18:00
Sunday 22.01.202310:00 - 18:00
Monday 23.01.202310:00 - 18:00
Wednesday 25.01.202310:00 - 21:00
Thursday 26.01.202310:00 - 18:00
Friday 27.01.202310:00 - 18:00
Saturday 28.01.202310:00 - 18:00
Sunday 29.01.202310:00 - 18:00
Monday 30.01.202310:00 - 18:00
Wednesday 01.02.202310:00 - 21:00
Thursday 02.02.202310:00 - 18:00
Friday 03.02.202310:00 - 18:00
Saturday 04.02.202310:00 - 18:00
Sunday 05.02.202310:00 - 18:00
Show allShow less

Location

Address: Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d'Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 LUXEMBOURG
Show on map
Phone:00352 45 37 85 960
Plan your journey

Where? 3, Park Dräi Eechelen, L-1499 LUXEMBOURG

When? 04.12.2022

Tacita Dean

Tacita Dean

Find out more

Where? 3, avenue des Hauts-Fourneaux, L-4361 Esch-sur-Alzette

When? 16.12.2022

Vernissage

Pure Europe

Find out more

Where? 3, Park Dräi Eechelen, L-1499 LUXEMBOURG

When? 30.06.2023

Collection Mudam

Collection Mudam

Find out more

Where? 37B, Rue de la Fontaine, L-4122 ESCH-SUR-ALZETTE

When? 07.12.2022

Open Workshop Wedn. evening !

Come and tinker in our shared atelier

Find out more

Where? BOULEVARD J-F KENNEDY, L-4170 ESCH-SUR-ALZETTE

When? 04.12.2022

Wou d'Uelzecht - Esch // Soundwalk Esch/Alzette

Wou d'Uelzecht…

Find out more

Where? rue Genistre 3, L-1623 LUXEMBOURG

When? 06.12.2022

Sophie Lapierre, Stéphane Pallage: Le bonheur en dépit du cancer

Sophie Lapierre, Stéphane Pallage: Le bonheur en dépit du cancer

Find out more

Where? 3, avenue des Hauts-Fourneaux, L-4361 Esch-sur-Alzette

When? 04.12.2022

Visite de l'exposition + Workshop pour Jeunes Publics

Frontaliers. Des vies en stéréo.

Find out more

Where? 41, rue Notre-Dame, L-2240 LUXEMBOURG

When? 04.12.2022

The Never Never

The Never Never

Find out more

Where? 3, avenue des Hauts-Fourneaux, L-4361 Esch-sur-Alzette

When? 17.12.2022

Visites guidées sans réservation du weekend (LU, FR, DE, EN)

Pure Europe

Find out more