When? Saturday 01.10.202202:00

Sound Without Music
Where? 41, rue Notre-Dame, L-2240 LUXEMBOURG Art, Culture & Literature

Sound Without Music

Sound Without Music is centered around the performance, presence and social potential of sound. Its title is less a statement than a question, examining the relationship between sound, art and music, and the way it has evolved in recent artistic practices that move between or beyond categories and in-between fiction, field recording, dialogue, soundscapes, silence and distortion. The space in-between becomes a political one, a space of overcoming boundaries and borders with and through sound.

 

Musical composition and visual arts have always been mutually inspiring, from Jean Tinguely's sound machines or Vassily Kandinsky's compositions to the influence of the Wagnerian Gesamtkunstwerk on installation art. Since the 20th century, and more notably since John Cage's 4'33'' in 1952, contemporary music itself has made a leap towards theatricality and performance. And while George Brecht notably questioned whether music has to encompass sound or not, sound became a constitutive element in the field of visual arts.

 

Recently there has been a growing interest in scores within the realm of contemporary art. Musical scores have been compared to 'concepts' that might or might not need interpretation or execution, or that in turn can be executed in a variety of ways. In 1966, Meyer Kupferman wrote Music Without Sound, an experiment based on a diagrammatic approach to the organisation of sound where music is meant to be read rather than listened to. This triggers the question of what then defines sound separately from music. Is it its defying chronology and temporality? Is it its presence; can you feel it? 

 

Sound Without Music is a reflection on different roles and textures of sound in contemporary art, and the various ways sound can be carefully heard or deeply listened to. This project puts both emerging and established practices, collectives and synergies in the spotlight to show how listening to and producing sounds remain key rituals in contemporary society. Breaking the convention of an exhibition of things, the hybrid format between a permanent display of works and an ephemeral program will showcase the freedom of experimentation and the cross-contamination between disciplines. 

 

From the beginning of September, the interdisciplinary program that precedes and accompanies the exhibition, will gradually unfold through concerts, performances, DJ-sets and screenings, between day and night, between colourful f(r)ictions and white noise.

© echo.lu
Next events
Saturday 01.10.202202:00
Sunday 02.10.202202:00
Monday 03.10.202202:00
Tuesday 04.10.202202:00
Wednesday 05.10.202202:00
Thursday 06.10.202202:00
Friday 07.10.202202:00
Saturday 08.10.202202:00
Sunday 09.10.202202:00
Monday 10.10.202202:00
Tuesday 11.10.202202:00
Wednesday 12.10.202202:00
Thursday 13.10.202202:00
Friday 14.10.202202:00
Saturday 15.10.202202:00
Sunday 16.10.202202:00
Monday 17.10.202202:00
Tuesday 18.10.202202:00
Wednesday 19.10.202202:00
Thursday 20.10.202202:00
Friday 21.10.202202:00
Saturday 22.10.202202:00
Sunday 23.10.202202:00
Monday 24.10.202202:00
Tuesday 25.10.202202:00
Wednesday 26.10.202202:00
Thursday 27.10.202202:00
Friday 28.10.202202:00
Saturday 29.10.202202:00
Sunday 30.10.202202:00
Monday 31.10.202202:00
Tuesday 01.11.202202:00
Wednesday 02.11.202202:00
Thursday 03.11.202202:00
Friday 04.11.202202:00
Saturday 05.11.202202:00
Sunday 06.11.202202:00
Monday 07.11.202202:00
Tuesday 08.11.202202:00
Wednesday 09.11.202202:00
Thursday 10.11.202202:00
Friday 11.11.202202:00
Saturday 12.11.202202:00
Sunday 13.11.202202:00
Monday 14.11.202202:00
Tuesday 15.11.202202:00
Wednesday 16.11.202202:00
Thursday 17.11.202202:00
Friday 18.11.202202:00
Saturday 19.11.202202:00
Sunday 20.11.202202:00
Monday 21.11.202202:00
Tuesday 22.11.202202:00
Wednesday 23.11.202202:00
Thursday 24.11.202202:00
Friday 25.11.202202:00
Saturday 26.11.202202:00
Sunday 27.11.202202:00
Monday 28.11.202202:00
Show allShow less

Location

Address: Casino Luxembourg - Forum d'art contemporain
41, rue Notre-Dame
L-2240 LUXEMBOURG
Show on map
Phone:00352 22 50 45
Frontaliers, des vies en stéréo par Mehdi Ahoudig et Samuel Bollendorff ©Samuel Bollendorff
© echo.lu

Where? 3, avenue des Hauts-Fourneaux, L-4361 Esch-sur-Alzette

When? 22.10.2022

Vernissage

Frontaliers. Des vies en stéréo.

Find out more
Musée National de la Résistance et des Droits Humains
© echo.lu

Where? Territoire France, Territoire France

When? 01.09.2022

Vernissage Chemin Mémoriel

ECCE HOMO

Find out more
Pas de copyright
© echo.lu

Where? 77, RUE ZENON BERNARD, L-4030 ESCH-SUR-ALZETTE

When? 17.11.2022

Vernissage de l'exposition sur Jean-Paul II avec CONCERT du groupe polonais HOQUETUS

Ensemble même si différents

Find out more
© tinker imagineers
© echo.lu

Where? 3, avenue des Hauts-Fourneaux, L-4361 Esch-sur-Alzette

When? 17.12.2022

Vernissage

Pure Europe

Find out more
©

Where? 37B, Rue de la Fontaine, L-4122 ESCH-SUR-ALZETTE

When? 06.07.2022

Open Workshop Wedn. evening !

Come and tinker in our shared atelier

Find out more
Pas de copyright
© echo.lu

Where? Territoire Luxembourg, Territoire Luxembourg

When? 24.07.2022

Concerts

Europe goes Scuffelingen

Find out more
Pas de copyright
© echo.lu

Where? Territoire Luxembourg, Territoire Luxembourg

When? 28.08.2022

Un chemin au milieu des arbres - Marche géopoétique

ECO-DESIGN - Le Village Pop-Up

Find out more
Pas de copyright
© echo.lu

Where? Territoire Luxembourg, Territoire Luxembourg

When? 28.07.2022

Concerts

Europe goes Scuffelingen

Find out more
Pas de copyright
© echo.lu

Where? Territoire Luxembourg, Territoire Luxembourg

When? 25.07.2022

Concerts

Europe goes Scuffelingen

Find out more