When? Friday 14.10.202211:00 - 18:00

Nightsongs - Independent Little Lies
Where? 1, rue Leon Metz, L-4238 Esch-sur-Alzette Esch2022, Art, Culture & Literature, Music Festivals

Nightsongs - Independent Little Lies

The steel industry has been part of the visual and auditory landscape of the city of Esch-sur-Alzette and the Luxembourg and Lorraine mining basin for more than 100 years. Sound pollution for some, the soundtrack of part of their lives for others, the song of machines consisting of the hiss and lamentation of bridge cranes and the roar of operating metal mechanisms fills the night with its melancholic, sometimes threatening and always subtle presence.


The Nightsongs project takes this contemporary nocturnal soundscape as its point of departure and the raw material for a series of electronic compositions exploring the different facets and activities of the night, their poetic dimension and how they relate to the history of the steel industry in the region. By using the field recording technique, the sounds and sound prints of industrial sites, both in operation (ArcelorMittal Belval) and idle (Metzeschmelz & FerroForum in Esch-Schifflange), in southern Luxembourg were recorded, mapped and edited to constitute a library of sounds and samples that have become the component parts of the sound and musical elements of the project.

The Nightsongs sound installation uses Mad Trix's ambisonic "Trinity" multichannel system to present an immersive auditory experience of sound excerpts from the project, thus placing conscious listening at the centre of the visitor-listener's approach. Like a sound machine for time travel, the installation takes visitors-listeners through different temporalities and soundscapes while inviting them to live in the soundscape that is created around them.


Music and sound excerpts: Ryvage (Samuel Reinard), Mudaze, Pascal Schumacher, Twin XXA (…) Denis Jousselin, Sophie Langevin, Elsa Rauchs, Claire Wagener

Text: Samuel Reinard

Field recordings: Oliver Lang, Samuel Reinard

Additional sound recordings: Claude Schlim, Samuel Reinard

Mixing: Cedric Fischer, Samuel Reinard, Oli Lang

Artistic design and creation: Samuel Reinard

Production managers: Jill Christophe, Claire Wagener. Production and communication assistant: Sara Goerres


A production of Independent Little Lies - ILL in collaboration with Kulturfabrik Esch-sur-Alzette, Konschthal/Bridderhaus, Les Ensembles 2.2, Madtrix, CNA, FerroForum and Portable Peninsula asbl. In the framework of the Esch2022, European Capital of Culture, with the support of the Ministry of Culture, the Indépendance foundation, SACEM Luxembourg, the City of Esch-sur-Alzette and frEsch asbl.

© echo.lu
Next events
Friday 14.10.202211:00 - 18:00
Saturday 15.10.202211:00 - 18:00
Thursday 20.10.202211:00 - 18:00
Friday 21.10.202211:00 - 18:00
Saturday 22.10.202211:00 - 18:00
Thursday 27.10.202211:00 - 18:00
Friday 28.10.202211:00 - 18:00
Saturday 29.10.202211:00 - 18:00
Thursday 03.11.202211:00 - 18:00
Friday 04.11.202211:00 - 18:00
Saturday 05.11.202211:00 - 18:00
Thursday 10.11.202211:00 - 18:00
Friday 11.11.202211:00 - 18:00
Saturday 12.11.202211:00 - 18:00
Thursday 17.11.202211:00 - 18:00
Friday 18.11.202211:00 - 18:00
Saturday 19.11.202211:00 - 18:00
Thursday 24.11.202211:00 - 18:00
Friday 25.11.202211:00 - 18:00
Saturday 26.11.202211:00 - 18:00
Thursday 01.12.202211:00 - 18:00
Friday 02.12.202211:00 - 18:00
Saturday 03.12.202211:00 - 18:00
Thursday 08.12.202211:00 - 18:00
Friday 09.12.202211:00 - 18:00
Saturday 10.12.202211:00 - 18:00
Thursday 15.12.202211:00 - 18:00
Friday 16.12.202211:00 - 18:00
Saturday 17.12.202211:00 - 18:00
Thursday 22.12.202211:00 - 18:00
Friday 23.12.202211:00 - 18:00
Saturday 24.12.202211:00 - 18:00
Thursday 29.12.202211:00 - 18:00
Friday 30.12.202211:00 - 18:00
Saturday 31.12.202211:00 - 18:00
Thursday 05.01.202311:00 - 18:00
Friday 06.01.202311:00 - 18:00
Saturday 07.01.202311:00 - 18:00
Thursday 12.01.202311:00 - 18:00
Friday 13.01.202311:00 - 18:00
Saturday 14.01.202311:00 - 18:00
Show allShow less

Location

Address: Bridderhaus
1, rue Leon Metz
L-4238 Esch-sur-Alzette
Plan your journey

Where? 33, Rue Charles Martel, L-2134 LUXEMBOURG

When? 22.11.2022

Concert Actart: Élégie / Alto romantique

Concert Actart: Élégie / Alto romantique

Find out more

Where? 33, Rue Charles Martel, L-2134 LUXEMBOURG

When? 26.10.2022

Concert Actart: La gloire des cuivres

Concert Actart: La gloire des cuivres

Find out more

Where? 33, Rue Charles Martel, L-2134 LUXEMBOURG

When? 07.12.2022

Concert Actart: La magie des cordes pincées

Concert Actart: La magie des cordes pincées

Find out more

Where? 3, avenue des Hauts-Fourneaux, L-4361 Esch-sur-Alzette

When? 22.10.2022

Vernissage

Frontaliers. Des vies en stéréo.

Find out more

Where? circuit de la Foire Internationale 10, L-1347 LUXEMBOURG

When? 26.10.2022

15th Occupational Health & Safety Forum

15th Occupational Health & Safety Forum

Find out more

Where? 33, Rue Charles Martel, L-2134 LUXEMBOURG

When? 19.10.2022

Concert Actart: Märchenbilder / …sonus et color…

Concert Actart: Märchenbilder / …sonus et color…

Find out more

Where? 33, Rue Charles Martel, L-2134 LUXEMBOURG

When? 08.11.2022

Concert Actart: Place aux compositrices / De l’une à l’autre

Concert Actart: Place aux compositrices / De l’une à l’autre

Find out more

Where? 77, RUE ZENON BERNARD, L-4030 ESCH-SUR-ALZETTE

When? 17.11.2022

Vernissage de l'exposition sur Jean-Paul II avec CONCERT du groupe polonais HOQUETUS

Ensemble même si différents

Find out more

Where? 33, Rue Charles Martel, L-2134 LUXEMBOURG

When? 12.10.2022

Concert Actart: Soir païen

Concert Actart: Soir païen

Find out more