When? Thursday 18.08.202210:00

Lucien Wercollier
Where? 28, rue Münster, L-2160 LUXEMBOURG Art, Culture & Literature

Sculptures

Stone, bronze, marble, alabaster, glass: the work of Lucien Wercollier is written in these different materials, which he discovered, one by one, and never left behind again. Works to be (re)discovered at the Abbey of Neumûnster where the private collection of the Wercollier family is placed in the ambulatory, in a scenography which was specially created for this location. If the sculputures of Wercollier are present in many collections and in many public museums of Luxembourg and abroad, this permanent exposition is the only one which regroups the works which document the life and the work of one of the Twentieth century’s greatest artists.

Born in 1908, Lucien Wercollier died in 2002 at the age of 94. Between these two dates were the years of training in Brussels and in Paris, the discovery of Maillol, Brancusi and Arp, but also the war years, arrestation and imprisonment in the Grund prison then deportation to Germany and Silesia, years which were to make of this talented sculpteur an exceptional artist, “searching for the most complete harmony among lines, structures, forms and meaning, harmony that was more and more profound and perfect” (G. Wagner).

"Pure volumes and a very clear order had the highest degree of importance for me" the artist confided. The works exposed at the Abbey allow the path of the man and the work of the artist, both of which were linked, to be joined. The man did not like "violent oppositions and tortured shapes" (N. Scuri). 25 sculptures testify to this.
Entrée libre
Visites guidées à la demande,
Email: contact@neimenster.lu
Organization: neimënster / Soutien: Ministère de la Culture

Lucien Wercollier
© echo.lu
Next events
Friday 19.08.202210:00
Saturday 20.08.202210:00
Sunday 21.08.202210:00
Monday 22.08.202210:00
Tuesday 23.08.202210:00
Wednesday 24.08.202210:00
Thursday 25.08.202210:00
Friday 26.08.202210:00
Saturday 27.08.202210:00
Sunday 28.08.202210:00
Monday 29.08.202210:00
Tuesday 30.08.202210:00
Wednesday 31.08.202210:00
Thursday 01.09.202210:00
Friday 02.09.202210:00
Saturday 03.09.202210:00
Sunday 04.09.202210:00
Monday 05.09.202210:00
Tuesday 06.09.202210:00
Wednesday 07.09.202210:00
Thursday 08.09.202210:00
Friday 09.09.202210:00
Saturday 10.09.202210:00
Sunday 11.09.202210:00
Monday 12.09.202210:00
Tuesday 13.09.202210:00
Wednesday 14.09.202210:00
Thursday 15.09.202210:00
Friday 16.09.202210:00
Saturday 17.09.202210:00
Sunday 18.09.202210:00
Monday 19.09.202210:00
Tuesday 20.09.202210:00
Wednesday 21.09.202210:00
Thursday 22.09.202210:00
Friday 23.09.202210:00
Saturday 24.09.202210:00
Sunday 25.09.202210:00
Monday 26.09.202210:00
Tuesday 27.09.202210:00
Wednesday 28.09.202210:00
Thursday 29.09.202210:00
Friday 30.09.202210:00
Saturday 01.10.202210:00
Sunday 02.10.202210:00
Monday 03.10.202210:00
Tuesday 04.10.202210:00
Wednesday 05.10.202210:00
Thursday 06.10.202210:00
Friday 07.10.202210:00
Saturday 08.10.202210:00
Sunday 09.10.202210:00
Monday 10.10.202210:00
Tuesday 11.10.202210:00
Wednesday 12.10.202210:00
Thursday 13.10.202210:00
Friday 14.10.202210:00
Saturday 15.10.202210:00
Sunday 16.10.202210:00
Monday 17.10.202210:00
Tuesday 18.10.202210:00
Wednesday 19.10.202210:00
Thursday 20.10.202210:00
Friday 21.10.202210:00
Saturday 22.10.202210:00
Sunday 23.10.202210:00
Monday 24.10.202210:00
Tuesday 25.10.202210:00
Wednesday 26.10.202210:00
Thursday 27.10.202210:00
Friday 28.10.202210:00
Saturday 29.10.202210:00
Sunday 30.10.202210:00
Monday 31.10.202210:00
Tuesday 01.11.202210:00
Wednesday 02.11.202210:00
Thursday 03.11.202210:00
Friday 04.11.202210:00
Saturday 05.11.202210:00
Sunday 06.11.202210:00
Monday 07.11.202210:00
Tuesday 08.11.202210:00
Wednesday 09.11.202210:00
Thursday 10.11.202210:00
Friday 11.11.202210:00
Saturday 12.11.202210:00
Sunday 13.11.202210:00
Monday 14.11.202210:00
Tuesday 15.11.202210:00
Wednesday 16.11.202210:00
Thursday 17.11.202210:00
Friday 18.11.202210:00
Saturday 19.11.202210:00
Sunday 20.11.202210:00
Monday 21.11.202210:00
Tuesday 22.11.202210:00
Wednesday 23.11.202210:00
Thursday 24.11.202210:00
Friday 25.11.202210:00
Saturday 26.11.202210:00
Sunday 27.11.202210:00
Monday 28.11.202210:00
Tuesday 29.11.202210:00
Wednesday 30.11.202210:00
Thursday 01.12.202210:00
Friday 02.12.202210:00
Saturday 03.12.202210:00
Sunday 04.12.202210:00
Monday 05.12.202210:00
Tuesday 06.12.202210:00
Wednesday 07.12.202210:00
Thursday 08.12.202210:00
Friday 09.12.202210:00
Saturday 10.12.202210:00
Sunday 11.12.202210:00
Monday 12.12.202210:00
Tuesday 13.12.202210:00
Wednesday 14.12.202210:00
Thursday 15.12.202210:00
Friday 16.12.202210:00
Saturday 17.12.202210:00
Sunday 18.12.202210:00
Monday 19.12.202210:00
Tuesday 20.12.202210:00
Wednesday 21.12.202210:00
Thursday 22.12.202210:00
Friday 23.12.202210:00
Saturday 24.12.202210:00
Sunday 25.12.202210:00
Monday 26.12.202210:00
Tuesday 27.12.202210:00
Wednesday 28.12.202210:00
Thursday 29.12.202210:00
Friday 30.12.202210:00
Saturday 31.12.202210:00
Show allShow less

Location

Address: neimënster - Centre Culturel de Rencontre Abbaye de Neumünster
28, rue Münster
L-2160 LUXEMBOURG
Show on map
Phone:+3522620521
Plan your journey
Frontaliers, des vies en stéréo par Mehdi Ahoudig et Samuel Bollendorff ©Samuel Bollendorff
© echo.lu

Where? 3, avenue des Hauts-Fourneaux, L-4361 Esch-sur-Alzette

When? 22.10.2022

Vernissage

Frontaliers. Des vies en stéréo.

Find out more
Musée National de la Résistance et des Droits Humains
© echo.lu

Where? Territoire France, Territoire France

When? 01.09.2022

Vernissage Chemin Mémoriel

ECCE HOMO

Find out more
Pas de copyright
© echo.lu

Where? 77, RUE ZENON BERNARD, L-4030 ESCH-SUR-ALZETTE

When? 17.11.2022

Vernissage de l'exposition sur Jean-Paul II avec CONCERT du groupe polonais HOQUETUS

Ensemble même si différents

Find out more
© tinker imagineers
© echo.lu

Where? 3, avenue des Hauts-Fourneaux, L-4361 Esch-sur-Alzette

When? 17.12.2022

Vernissage

Pure Europe

Find out more
©

Where? 37B, Rue de la Fontaine, L-4122 ESCH-SUR-ALZETTE

When? 14.09.2022

Open Workshop Wedn. evening !

Come and tinker in our shared atelier

Find out more
Visitt op Lëtzebuergesch
© echo.lu

Where? 3, Park Dräi Eechelen, L-1499 LUXEMBOURG

When? 20.08.2022

Visitt op Lëtzebuergesch

Visitt op Lëtzebuergesch

Find out more
© echo.lu

Where? 29-33, Boulevard Prince Henri, L-4280 ESCH-SUR-ALZETTE

When? 18.08.2022

Visit for children (LU)

Visit for children (LU)

Find out more
Cropmark
© echo.lu

Where? rue de Luxembourg 116, L-4221 ESCH-SUR-ALZETTE

When? 24.09.2022

Concert

NIGHTSONGS

Find out more
On Steitsch 131 photo SNJ
© echo.lu

Where? 3, place des Rotondes, L-2448 LUXEMBOURG

When? 24.09.2022

On Stéitsch

On Stéitsch

Find out more