When? Thursday 11.08.202212:00

Laço Belval
Where? 116, rue de Luxembourg, L-4221 Esch-sur-Alzette Theatre, Film & Shows, Esch2022, Other

A Colônia Luxemburguesa

A Colônia Luxemburguesa & [L]aço is a transmedia project telling the fascinating story of steel-framed migration trajectories of Luxembourgers and other Europeans to Brazil. Arbed’s overseas activities in Brazil date back to 1921, when the Luxembourg-based steel giant inaugurated its subsidiary called 'Companhia Siderúrgica Belgo Mineira'. Since then, hundreds of engineers, technicians, foremen and workers migrated from our Bassin Minier to the vast tropical mining area of Minas Gerais and, together with their families, helped shaping the Colônia Luxemburguesa.  

 

The interactive web-documentary 'A Colônia Luxemburguesa' shares some of their stories, in their own words. It analyses the political and societal implications this giant of the steel industry had for the everyday lives, not only of the members of the board of directors, but also of workers and the broader Brazilian community. It builds around the entangled and converging histories of the migrant community and the company.

 

By gaining personal insight into the migrants’ state of mind, this web-documentary gently deconstructs the myth of the Colônia Luxemburguesa as a successful migration history of an alleged unified and homogeneous community. Furthermore, this web-documentary includes a participatory section where the viewers/users can upload and share their personal archives with basic metadata that would then be added to the [L]aço digital archive collection (with the support of the CNA and the C2DH).

 

Text provided by the project partner.

Pas de copyright
© echo.lu
Next events
Friday 12.08.202212:00
Saturday 13.08.202212:00
Sunday 14.08.202212:00
Monday 15.08.202212:00
Tuesday 16.08.202212:00
Wednesday 17.08.202212:00
Thursday 18.08.202212:00
Friday 19.08.202212:00
Saturday 20.08.202212:00
Sunday 21.08.202212:00
Monday 22.08.202212:00
Tuesday 23.08.202212:00
Wednesday 24.08.202212:00
Thursday 25.08.202212:00
Friday 26.08.202212:00
Saturday 27.08.202212:00
Sunday 28.08.202212:00
Monday 29.08.202212:00
Tuesday 30.08.202212:00
Wednesday 31.08.202212:00
Thursday 01.09.202212:00
Friday 02.09.202212:00
Saturday 03.09.202212:00
Sunday 04.09.202212:00
Monday 05.09.202212:00
Tuesday 06.09.202212:00
Wednesday 07.09.202212:00
Thursday 08.09.202212:00
Friday 09.09.202212:00
Saturday 10.09.202212:00
Sunday 11.09.202212:00
Monday 12.09.202212:00
Tuesday 13.09.202212:00
Wednesday 14.09.202212:00
Thursday 15.09.202212:00
Friday 16.09.202212:00
Saturday 17.09.202212:00
Sunday 18.09.202212:00
Monday 19.09.202212:00
Tuesday 20.09.202212:00
Wednesday 21.09.202212:00
Thursday 22.09.202212:00
Friday 23.09.202212:00
Saturday 24.09.202212:00
Sunday 25.09.202212:00
Monday 26.09.202212:00
Tuesday 27.09.202212:00
Wednesday 28.09.202212:00
Thursday 29.09.202212:00
Friday 30.09.202212:00
Saturday 01.10.202212:00
Show allShow less

Location

Address: Laço, Esch-sur-Alzette
116, rue de Luxembourg
L-4221 Esch-sur-Alzette
Plan your journey
Frontaliers, des vies en stéréo par Mehdi Ahoudig et Samuel Bollendorff ©Samuel Bollendorff
© echo.lu

Where? 3, avenue des Hauts-Fourneaux, L-4361 Esch-sur-Alzette

When? 22.10.2022

Vernissage

Frontaliers. Des vies en stéréo.

Find out more
Musée National de la Résistance et des Droits Humains
© echo.lu

Where? Territoire France, Territoire France

When? 01.09.2022

Vernissage Chemin Mémoriel

ECCE HOMO

Find out more
Pas de copyright
© echo.lu

Where? 77, RUE ZENON BERNARD, L-4030 ESCH-SUR-ALZETTE

When? 17.11.2022

Vernissage de l'exposition sur Jean-Paul II avec CONCERT du groupe polonais HOQUETUS

Ensemble même si différents

Find out more
© tinker imagineers
© echo.lu

Where? 3, avenue des Hauts-Fourneaux, L-4361 Esch-sur-Alzette

When? 17.12.2022

Vernissage

Pure Europe

Find out more
©

Where? 37B, Rue de la Fontaine, L-4122 ESCH-SUR-ALZETTE

When? 14.09.2022

Open Workshop Wedn. evening !

Come and tinker in our shared atelier

Find out more
© echo.lu

Where? 42, ROUTE D'ARLON, L-8210 MAMER

When? 18.11.2022

We wear our wheels with pride…

Robyn Orlin

Find out more
Das Stueck mit dem Schiff (c) Uwe Stratmann
© echo.lu

Where? 1, Rond-point Schuman, L-2525 LUXEMBOURG

When? 13.10.2022

Tanztheater Wuppertal Pina Bausch

Tanztheater Wuppertal Pina Bausch

Find out more
Lets move (c) Benoît Dochy
© echo.lu

Where? 1, Rond-point Schuman, L-2525 LUXEMBOURG

When? 27.01.2023

Sylvain Groud - Ballet du Nord, CCN & Vous

Sylvain Groud - Ballet du Nord, CCN & Vous

Find out more
Betsy & Luisa (c) Erzielkonscht sabl
© echo.lu

Where? Place du Theatre, L-2613 LUXEMBOURG

When? 26.05.2023

Tell it again, Sam

Tell it again, Sam

Find out more