When? Saturday 13.07.202411:00 - 19:00

Put it on! Le Luxembourg s’habille

Where? 2, Place d'Armes, L-1136 Luxembourg Art, Culture & Literature

La mode et le vêtement dans la photographie au Luxembourg

Clothes are more than just mere pieces of fabric used to dress or adorn humans; they are also a reflection of the society in which we live. For centuries, clothing was primarily a means of identifying the profession or social position of its wearer. However, as society has evolved to become more fluid and individualistic, so too has the role of clothing. Today, garments do much more than offer protection and warmth: they are a canvas for expressing personality and individual preferences.


Fashion not only keeps our wardrobes ever-changing, but also reflects political, economic and social changes. In this context, fashion can, for example, be an expression of adaptation or rebellion, signal social upheaval or, on the contrary, uphold tradition. However, even as clothing becomes more individualized, it often follows trends that reflect the desire to belong to and be accepted by a particular group.


In this exhibition, the Photothèque explores the evolution of fashion in Luxembourg since the beginning of the 20th century. It contrasts professional attire and formal wear with the casual styles popular among youth in the 1970s. At the beginning of the 20th century, women and men from the bourgeoisie had their portraits taken highlighting their rather upscale lifestyle through their clothes. The many fashion shows held in Luxembourg City illustrate the link between fashion and the pursuit of beauty. A stroll past the city’s shop windows and traditional boutiques invites visitors to explore this dynamic. While fashion is ephemeral, the desire of every individual to position themselves in their social context has persisted throughout the centuries.


Exhibition opening


Friday 12 July at 17:00


Free entrance, no prior registration needed

Photographs will be taken during the opening for Cercle Cité's communication. If you do not wish to appear on them, please contact Cercle Cité's reception staff.


Organisation: Photothèque de Ville de Luxembourg

Curators: Christian Aschman and Gaby Sonnabend

Exhibition opening: 12.07.2024 - 17:00

Next events
Saturday 13.07.202411:00 - 19:00
Sunday 14.07.202411:00 - 19:00
Monday 15.07.202411:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 16.07.202411:00 - 19:00
Wednesday 17.07.202411:00 - 19:00
Thursday 18.07.202411:00 - 19:00
Friday 19.07.202411:00 - 19:00
Saturday 20.07.202411:00 - 19:00
Sunday 21.07.202411:00 - 19:00
Monday 22.07.202411:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 23.07.202411:00 - 19:00
Wednesday 24.07.202411:00 - 19:00
Thursday 25.07.202411:00 - 19:00
Friday 26.07.202411:00 - 19:00
Saturday 27.07.202411:00 - 19:00
Sunday 28.07.202411:00 - 19:00
Monday 29.07.202411:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 30.07.202411:00 - 19:00
Wednesday 31.07.202411:00 - 19:00
Thursday 01.08.202411:00 - 19:00
Friday 02.08.202411:00 - 19:00
Saturday 03.08.202411:00 - 19:00
Sunday 04.08.202411:00 - 19:00
Monday 05.08.202411:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 06.08.202411:00 - 19:00
Wednesday 07.08.202411:00 - 19:00
Thursday 08.08.202411:00 - 19:00
Friday 09.08.202411:00 - 19:00
Saturday 10.08.202411:00 - 19:00
Sunday 11.08.202411:00 - 19:00
Monday 12.08.202411:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 13.08.202411:00 - 19:00
Wednesday 14.08.202411:00 - 19:00
Thursday 15.08.202411:00 - 19:00
Friday 16.08.202411:00 - 19:00
Saturday 17.08.202411:00 - 19:00
Sunday 18.08.202411:00 - 19:00
Monday 19.08.202411:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 20.08.202411:00 - 19:00
Wednesday 21.08.202411:00 - 19:00
Thursday 22.08.202411:00 - 19:00
Friday 23.08.202411:00 - 19:00
Saturday 24.08.202411:00 - 19:00
Sunday 25.08.202411:00 - 19:00
Monday 26.08.202411:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 27.08.202411:00 - 19:00
Wednesday 28.08.202411:00 - 19:00
Thursday 29.08.202411:00 - 19:00
Friday 30.08.202411:00 - 19:00
Saturday 31.08.202411:00 - 19:00
Sunday 01.09.202411:00 - 19:00
Monday 02.09.202411:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 03.09.202411:00 - 19:00
Wednesday 04.09.202411:00 - 19:00
Thursday 05.09.202411:00 - 19:00
Friday 06.09.202411:00 - 19:00
Saturday 07.09.202411:00 - 19:00
Sunday 08.09.202411:00 - 19:00
Monday 09.09.202411:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 10.09.202411:00 - 19:00
Wednesday 11.09.202411:00 - 19:00
Thursday 12.09.202411:00 - 19:00
Friday 13.09.202411:00 - 19:00
Saturday 14.09.202411:00 - 19:00
Sunday 15.09.202411:00 - 19:00
Show allShow less

Location

Address: Cercle Cité
2, Place d'Armes
L-1136 Luxembourg
Show on map

Summer workshop on Sustainability

Scienteens Academy
Find out more

Family tour

Family tour
Find out more

Our wall - our voices

Our wall - our voices
Find out more

Our wall - our voices

Our wall - our voices
Find out more

sleeping swift, slipping – falls

sleeping swift, slipping – falls
Find out more

Guided tours of the National Library

Guided tours of the National Library
Find out more

Mudam Speaks

Mudam Speaks
Find out more

Empty Nest

Empty Nest
Find out more

Meditation guided tour

Meditation guided tour
Find out more