Luxembourgish classification system

Luxembourgish hotel classification system

An international ranking system

Hotel trade associations in Germany, the Netherlands, Austria, Sweden, Switzerland, Czechia, and Hungary created the “Hotelstars Union” association, under the patronage of HOTREC. Since then, several other countries have joined: Estonia (2011), Latvia (2011), Luxembourg (2011), Malta (2012), Belgium (2013), Denmark (2013), Greece (2013), and Liechtenstein (2015).

A standardised hotel classification system is run by this partnership. It uses mutually agreed ranking criteria that are regularly updated to match evolving client needs and expectations.

As is standard international practice, hotels are ranked into five star categories.

In Luxembourg, the grading procedure is carried out by the Ministry of the Economy, in cooperation with the Horesca Luxembourg trade association.


Ministère de l’Économie
Direction générale du tourisme
M. Patrick Heuschling
19-21, bd Royal
L-2449 Luxembourg 

T +352 247 84749 |