When? Thursday 13.10.202200:00

CeCiL's Box by Guillaume Barborini
Where? 2, Place d'Armes / rue Genistre, L-1623 LUXEMBOURG Art, Culture & Literature

Les mains-ruisseau

With its CeCiL’s Box project, Cercle Cité welcomes creations in one of its windows on rue du Curé. This project aims to present varied and original interventions to the public, and is also a way to support local creation by offering visibility to guest artists. These interventions are visible 7 days a week, day and night.


The 27th intervention, entrusted to artist Guillaume Barborini, is entitled "Les mains-ruisseau" (The stream-hands).


Élisée Reclus commenced his histoire d'un ruisseau (History of a Stream) in 1869 by comparing it to the history of infinity. Today, these words are shrouded in doubt, with the turbulence of the world creating a tension between them. On a certain level, it is this tension that inspires the exhibition.


The idea is to enter into the infinite or dying movement of streams, to slip our hands between the flowing water and the stone being smoothed. Then, in this place between the water and the stone: to let the hand invent its manner of being. To let it act and be acted upon.


Hands that sift water and are wrinkled in turn by the water. Hands that grasp a stone or two and roll them like a torrent, from the cupped palms to the fingertips. Phalanges actively sculpting by attrition, slowly wearing away by touching, fashioning the shingle but which are also fashioned by it as it thickens the skin and hones the gesture.

Between water and stone, learning the work of streams like a little absurdity and like an almost plausible narrative; just as hand-pollination is currently practiced in China. Undertaking the work of streams with ambiguity, like setting about a neo dead-end job or engaging with a desirable alternative, catching one's breath on the riverbank, on the crest of the racing world. In the simplicity of one or two gestures, the exhibition is thus about this damaged world, work that inflicts violence and is violent to the worker, and perhaps about the delightful, recharged murmur of a breakaway.


We invite you to meet-up with the artist in front of the CeCiL's Box on Thursday October 13 at 12 p.m.


Share your images on Facebook and Instagram : #cecilsbox

©
Next events
Thursday 13.10.202200:00
Friday 14.10.202200:00
Saturday 15.10.202200:00
Sunday 16.10.202200:00
Monday 17.10.202200:00
Tuesday 18.10.202200:00
Wednesday 19.10.202200:00
Thursday 20.10.202200:00
Friday 21.10.202200:00
Saturday 22.10.202200:00
Sunday 23.10.202200:00
Monday 24.10.202200:00
Tuesday 25.10.202200:00
Wednesday 26.10.202200:00
Thursday 27.10.202200:00
Friday 28.10.202200:00
Saturday 29.10.202200:00
Sunday 30.10.202200:00
Monday 31.10.202200:00
Tuesday 01.11.202200:00
Wednesday 02.11.202200:00
Thursday 03.11.202200:00
Friday 04.11.202200:00
Saturday 05.11.202200:00
Sunday 06.11.202200:00
Monday 07.11.202200:00
Tuesday 08.11.202200:00
Wednesday 09.11.202200:00
Thursday 10.11.202200:00
Friday 11.11.202200:00
Saturday 12.11.202200:00
Sunday 13.11.202200:00
Monday 14.11.202200:00
Tuesday 15.11.202200:00
Wednesday 16.11.202200:00
Thursday 17.11.202200:00
Friday 18.11.202200:00
Saturday 19.11.202200:00
Sunday 20.11.202200:00
Monday 21.11.202200:00
Tuesday 22.11.202200:00
Wednesday 23.11.202200:00
Thursday 24.11.202200:00
Friday 25.11.202200:00
Saturday 26.11.202200:00
Sunday 27.11.202200:00
Monday 28.11.202200:00
Tuesday 29.11.202200:00
Wednesday 30.11.202200:00
Thursday 01.12.202200:00
Friday 02.12.202200:00
Saturday 03.12.202200:00
Sunday 04.12.202200:00
Monday 05.12.202200:00
Tuesday 06.12.202200:00
Wednesday 07.12.202200:00
Thursday 08.12.202200:00
Friday 09.12.202200:00
Saturday 10.12.202200:00
Sunday 11.12.202200:00
Monday 12.12.202200:00
Tuesday 13.12.202200:00
Wednesday 14.12.202200:00
Thursday 15.12.202200:00
Friday 16.12.202200:00
Saturday 17.12.202200:00
Sunday 18.12.202200:00
Monday 19.12.202200:00
Tuesday 20.12.202200:00
Wednesday 21.12.202200:00
Thursday 22.12.202200:00
Friday 23.12.202200:00
Saturday 24.12.202200:00
Sunday 25.12.202200:00
Monday 26.12.202200:00
Tuesday 27.12.202200:00
Wednesday 28.12.202200:00
Thursday 29.12.202200:00
Friday 30.12.202200:00
Saturday 31.12.202200:00
Sunday 01.01.202300:00
Monday 02.01.202300:00
Tuesday 03.01.202300:00
Wednesday 04.01.202300:00
Thursday 05.01.202300:00
Friday 06.01.202300:00
Saturday 07.01.202300:00
Sunday 08.01.202300:00
Show allShow less

Location

Address: Cercle Cité
2, Place d'Armes / rue Genistre
L-1623 LUXEMBOURG
Show on map
Phone:0035246 49 46-1
Plan your journey
Frontaliers, des vies en stéréo par Mehdi Ahoudig et Samuel Bollendorff ©Samuel Bollendorff
© echo.lu

Where? 3, avenue des Hauts-Fourneaux, L-4361 Esch-sur-Alzette

When? 22.10.2022

Vernissage

Frontaliers. Des vies en stéréo.

Find out more
Musée National de la Résistance et des Droits Humains
© echo.lu

Where? Territoire France, Territoire France

When? 01.09.2022

Vernissage Chemin Mémoriel

ECCE HOMO

Find out more
Pas de copyright
© echo.lu

Where? 77, RUE ZENON BERNARD, L-4030 ESCH-SUR-ALZETTE

When? 17.11.2022

Vernissage de l'exposition sur Jean-Paul II avec CONCERT du groupe polonais HOQUETUS

Ensemble même si différents

Find out more
© tinker imagineers
© echo.lu

Where? 3, avenue des Hauts-Fourneaux, L-4361 Esch-sur-Alzette

When? 17.12.2022

Vernissage

Pure Europe

Find out more
©

Where? 37B, Rue de la Fontaine, L-4122 ESCH-SUR-ALZETTE

When? 14.09.2022

Open Workshop Wedn. evening !

Come and tinker in our shared atelier

Find out more
Visitt op Lëtzebuergesch
© echo.lu

Where? 3, Park Dräi Eechelen, L-1499 LUXEMBOURG

When? 13.08.2022

Visitt op Lëtzebuergesch

Visitt op Lëtzebuergesch

Find out more
© echo.lu

Where? 29-33, Boulevard Prince Henri, L-4280 ESCH-SUR-ALZETTE

When? 14.08.2022

Visit for children (LU)

Visit for children (LU)

Find out more
Cropmark
© echo.lu

Where? rue de Luxembourg 116, L-4221 ESCH-SUR-ALZETTE

When? 24.09.2022

Concert

NIGHTSONGS

Find out more
On Steitsch 131 photo SNJ
© echo.lu

Where? 3, place des Rotondes, L-2448 LUXEMBOURG

When? 24.09.2022

On Stéitsch

On Stéitsch

Find out more